It's that time of year again

We neither of us get to bed very early, however we rarely see midnight. Last night (or should I say this morning) we did. Gordon was watching the Olympics, a Triathlon and wanted to stay to the end; I was waiting for the Booker Longlist announcement. The announcement was at one minute past midnight (no idea why) and then I followed the reaction. It is always great fun - books appear that no one thought would, books that were expected to be on the list are not, books are selected that no one has even heard of. I love all the comments and discussion.

I only had two of the thirteen books, the top two in the picture. The third arrived today because I did a rash thing - I ordered all the eleven I had not got. I usually pick them up gradually as I get to bookshops, but as I am rarely in bookshops at the moment, it was just too tempting to use Amazon. I feel bad, but in a way I did it just because I could. The orders went in at 1am and most will arrive tomorrow, one arrived today.

My  once a year purchase - several months of exciting reading ahead. 

The books are on the new IKEA table that we are very pleased with and also in view is the old fence that Gordon was going to set about replacing - except fencing seems to be in short supply at the moment. People have been at home too much, said the usual supplier in Appleby. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.