Tiny Something

The garden is often the last resort for a blip and so it proved today as I searched for something Tiny.

I found it in the tadpool: a tiny beetle of some sort, sitting on a lily-pad leaf (the size of watercress) alongside a gnat. (I can't decide on a name, so any Blipper that knows Coleoptera, please tell).

I took several photos before lifting it onto my finger to measure it, (all of 2mm) whereupon it began an energetic clean-up, wiping its face with great thoroughness, which suggested that it was not in fact an aqueous species but had perhaps fallen in by mistake.

Consequently, instead of carefully returning it to its leaf to play with tadpoles I placed it on the nearby greenery, so if it is a pest and eats the garden I can only blame my caring nature myself.

Thanks to osuzanna for hosting Tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.