One way traffic

By Mobius

The Star, Hope & The Antichrist

Divine Insurgency: The Reformation
Parish Church Council Meeting tonight was a banger. The Reverend had chosen to resolutely continue as if some medieval religious patriarch, so likewise I went in like a Knights Templar on a "squadron charge". 

I don't have the energy, or patience for extended politics over a period of months but it did provide an opportunity for some of the others to continue to voice their like-minded views in a more subtle way. There was some collateral upset which I do regret. 

In addition another councillor clearly upset at his responses to questions mentioned moving to another church, to which the Vicar could only reply .."it's not personal". The Vicar also interrogated me as I had half been expecting (& was prepared) in order to potentially remove me from the council; but was not well enough informed on the rules to agree a conclusion with the meeting as to my future; poor preparation on his part.

Others challenged him on what activities could or could not be held in the church without an ordained priest or lay preacher to which he could again not clearly define when given examples; ill prepared again for a known issue to him.

I'd postponed the offer of a chat with the Archdeacon due to tonight's meeting, so I'll discuss with others and decide how/ when/ if to proceed.

I today accepted an unexpected offer to have an introductory chat with the Reverend Cheif Executive of a C of E linked charity whose aim is to broaden the appeal of rural churches so that they prosper. I only became a supporter of it a couple of days ago. That's on Friday.

The Cafe Society
I joined a friend for what I term "a gentleman's breakfast" - vegie and very good. It transpires he has a good friend who is the PA to The Bishop, and who appears would be sympathetic to my views. I enjoyed chatting with her once at a party before she moved from a quite senior corporate role, into the church.

I also met another friend in our village cafe in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.