Shivering Timbers

We were able to make it to Michigan's Adventure today. It's about 3 1/2 hours away from Jill's parents, so it was a nice getaway.

Shivering Timbers is a massive wooden roller coaster (see extra). It's 122 feet (37 meters) tall, goes 57 mph (91 kph) and is 5,383 feet (1,640 meters) long. It opened in 1998 and has been something I've wanted to ride for decades. Today I finally got to!

Our wait was a little under an hour. It's only running one train because the two trains bumped in the station a few weeks ago. One was damaged and is not operating. We only got one ride on each coaster since most had only one train running. Someday I want to get another ride on Shivering Timbers.

I rode the other five coasters, bringing my total coaster count to 312.

Today's incident with Jill's mom is one that really upsets me. Bruno was still sick, so Jill was cleaning him in the sink. She dried him with paper towels. Her mom offered her a cloth towel, which Jill refused because she didn't need it. Apparently that was a no-no, so she shoved the towel in Jill's chest and stared at her.

I snapped. I told her to act like an adult. I said I was tired of her yelling all the time and treating her husband and Jill so poorly. I said she yelled at her husband when he fell, which worried me because he's 78. She denied it. She said she wasn't yelling. The gaslighting of this woman! I told her she was yelling and to stop being like this. She walked past me and stared me down, but I did not break my stare. I stared right back as she went to her room.

She and Jill talked for about half an hour. When she came out, she apologized. So did I, but I did not mean it. I hit my breaking point. I could no longer stand by as she treated the woman I love so poorly and abused her elderly husband. It was terrifying, but I couldn't help it. She had excuses, but no one can excuse her behavior.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.