Fearful Symmetry

On This Day In History
1958: NASA created

Quote Of The Day
"The Earth is the cradle of humanity, but mankind cannot stay in the cradle forever."
(Konstantin Tsiolkovsky)

I first read Dangerous Visions in my mid 'teens since it was highly recommended by Brian W. Aldiss and David Wingrove in their seminal S.F. history book, The Trillion Year Spree. So far, most of the stories in this anthology stand the test of time, particularly when one considers that it was first published in 1967, two years before the Apollo Moon landing. 

By a spooky coincidence, the story I read this afternoon, Gonna Roll The Bones by Fritz Leiber, is about a man who plays craps with Death, a bogeyman in the form of a skeleton. Why spooky? Well, look at my flask, and then consider this.

As I read this story, the clouds gathered and the skies darkened. To what doth this portend? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.