The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Wednesday 28th July 2021)

On a recent walk into town I had noticed that these new planters on rollers and outdoor pavement tables and seating had been installed outside the Lansdowne Strand Hotel, probably the most imposing building in Calne, dating from the 16th century. It used to be a coaching inn with its own brewery and was an important stopping point on the way to Bath, with stabling and kitchen gardens stretching far up the hill behind it. I wonder what the protocol is for expanding onto public property? Presumably the council has to give its permission. The catalpa tree is one of a pair - there is a smaller one up the road at the entrance to the Town Gardens.

It was lightly raining and I discovered my cagoule was not in my camera bag so after checking that the heron was not fishing near to Chaveywell bridge I hurried home before the next heavy shower.

Thursday 29.7.2021 (1122 hr)

Blip #3493 (#3243 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2022 #148/266 + #080/100 Extras
Day #4143 (904 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2636 (#2436 + 160 in archived blips)

Calne series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Sigma AF 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Isley Brothers - Why When Love Is Gone (recorded 8 September 1966, Hitsville Studio A, Detroit MI)
I came across a playlist recently that was called something like Ten Motown Classic Recordings You've Never Heard. Of course I had heard them all and some of them, such as Chris Clark's Love's Gone Bad  I regarded as well-known classics. There were a couple of album tracks and B-sides that I did own but hadn't especially taken note of, and this B-side from the Isley's Soul On The Rocks album was one. It really rocks along and probably went down a storm in the Northern Soul clubs, and I'm glad to have now paid it more attention. Another one on the list that I couldn't recall before replaying it was Marvin Gaye's When I Had Your Love, which was originally the B-side of One More Heartache but had then appeared on several compilations.


One year ago:
Calne Town Gardens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.