wrperry

By wrperry

New Destination

A friend who knows my love of wildlife mentioned work she noticed in a local park that includes restoration and expansion of a wetland.  My husband parks there frequently to go running on the park trail, but didn't think to mention the change to me.  It's only ten minutes from home, so I couldn't wait to check it out.  It's an environmental mitigation project, required by the Clean Water Act, to counter the impact of a new transit line.  It's a work in progress, but already it has become home to this Great Egret, Mallards, a female Wood Duck, two Belted Kingfishers, multiple Red-winged Blackbirds, and who knows what else.  It's not a huge piece of land but a boardwalk sure would be nice.  Unfortunately, I don't think that's in the plans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.