Thursday

We had a new member today who used to be a farmer and his farm is across the valley behind my house. Other members include a herdsman and another farmer and all 3 know each other. 

My surname happens to the same as yet another farmer that lived along a lane close to me. I should not have mentioned my surname because the new member is convinced I am connected to farm in the lane and he quizzed on farming matters constantly. 

I have always gone along with whatever a person with dementia believes but today it wore me out! I was doing my best to answer sensibly and as knowledgeable as I could and think I did quite well.

The herdsman used to work for the new member and had a cottage on his farm. The herdsman said, "Of course, your father fathered the child of Swain's eldest daughter." 

Well, the look on the new member's face was one of shock! 

"My father did what??!" And then to me, "I have a lot on my mind. I cannot concentrate."

I had to move things on quickly and get them occupied in an activity. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.