Paladian

By Paladian

Don't you get annoyed when......

.... something is called "common" but you've never seen it before. Allow me to introduce the Black-Faced Cuckoo-Shrike (Coracina novaehollandiae).

Wikipedia describes it as "a common omnivorous passerine bird native to Australia, New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. It has a protected status in Australia, under the National Parks and Wildlife Act, 1974. They are widely distributed in almost any wooded habitat throughout the area, except in rainforests. But they can also occur in urban areas, and are a fairly common sight on power lines in Australian cities such as Sydney and Perth.

Well, guess what Mr. Wiki, it can't be that common or it wouldn't be protected, and I've never seen one before.

Having said that, I'll probably see it every single time I go to the Park from here on in!

The thing is, I do feel really blessed that I managed to spot this rather attractive bird, because I have a new bird for Big Blip Year, and because I live so near to a National park which is absolutely amazingly beautiful.

Black face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.