curns' corner

By curns

Heat

Because we went to the cinema yesterday morning, the weekly shopping trip was postponed to Sunday. When this has happened before I have always found the selection of fresh produce to be worse than on a Saturday. It makes sense but I’ve tried to avoid Sundays in the supermarket as much as possible. Today, I was pleasantly surprised today to find well-stocked shelves.

I always moan that we don’t use our small outdoor space enough. And, until the lockdowns began last year, I’d often wondered why we bothered paying the premium for a house with an outside space. Of course, last year we were so grateful to have a place to sit outside and, effectively, create ourselves another room. So, PY has spent some time tidying up the garden this year and we’d arranged for the new fencing and some additional garden furniture. I’ve been skeptical because, as the world opens up again, I wondered if we’d just fall back into our old habits of leaving the house rather than using our own space. Today, I was proved wrong. We spent all day - and the evening - in the garden. We did head out for a walk around Canon Hill Common in the late afternoon as the temperatures were cooler but, for most of the day, I was sat enjoying the beautiful weather - the outside thermometer hit 30 degrees - under the shade of the parasol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.