x2

I had my second Covid jab, in an empty retail space in one of Cambridge’s shopping centres, the Grafton. It was a well oiled machine and a much swifter process than the first, which had large numbers of people and a systematic chair protocol to line us all up. I’m impressed on all fronts, having received a text message urging me to bring my appointment forward. Congratulations to the NHS and all its staff and volunteers. My arm felt heavy afterwards, but there were overall fewer side effects than last time, and I got off pretty lightly then.

It was all a go-go in Cambridge city centre at lunchtime. A screen had been erected to show the Olympics opening ceremony and in various places students with mortarboards and gowns celebrated their graduations. What a strange experience it must have been to complete one’s studies during the coronavirus pandemic. I hope students made the most of the limited contact, and formed the social bonds with their peers that we all know are the main reason for going to university.

In the evening I ate pizza and watched Mare of Easttown, the acclaimed series starring Kate Winslet. It’s dark, gritty and tragic, i.e. gripping and suspenseful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.