Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Floating....

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed---and gazed---but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

William Wordsworth (1770-1850)


On yet another dull grey day, some daffodils from the flowers that my friend gave me on Friday. I thought these were a different coloured tulip until they came out! I love the orange centres and the creamy white petals.

I wandered lonely as a cloud is one of my favourite all time poems. I first learnt it at school, and later made some cushion covers for presents based on the poem. I still have the template somewhere :)

Last night was another bad night, and I have to work this afternoon so I'm just chilling again this morning! Not really concentrating on anything, I have to get ready in one hour....

Two more afternoons at work after today, then I'm on holiday (at home) until after Easter! Yay :)

Happy Tuesday blippers :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.