Colorful gents

Sitting by the ocean, breathing, watching the eternal in-and-out of the waves, the truth came to me fully: Palesa is not here and will not be here again in any way I can recognize. I know that I don't know about spirits, ancestors, karma, afterlife. I know that I don't know what death is, or what comes after. What I know is that this presence we call "ocean" is vast and powerful, as salty as our tears. 

And human beings: we are full of ourselves, our importance, our hopes and fears, our aspirations and furies, our greed and gratitude, our generosity and kindness. I sat silent as a stone and watched these two wild men doing the odd things they did, knowing that those of us who have what we call "life" will go on with our odd ways until we, too, die. That's what I know today.

The fund for Palesa's children is growing. So is my unending gratitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.