The Way I See Things

By JDO

Urchin

It rained for much of the day, giving me plenty of time to deal with a backlog of administrative tasks that had been building up. In the latter part of the afternoon the rain stopped and I wandered outside with the camera, but there wasn't much going on, bug-wise, so I was reduced to photographing flowers. In all honesty there weren't many of those around either - the garden is looking pretty drab at the moment - but the tub of Echinacea purpurea I planted last year has surprised me by coming back up this summer, and I thought that was worth celebrating.

Echinaceas are native to the United States, but are now widely grown in the UK. They like well-drained soil in full sun, which explains why they generally keel over in my claggy clay soil under the lowering skies of Worcestershire; the fact that I rarely remember to water my patio pots is probably the factor that has allowed this plant to survive into its second season.

Fun fact about echinaceas: according to Wikipedia, the generic name is derived from the Greek word ἐχῖνος (ekhinos), meaning "sea urchin", due to the spiny central disk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.