Buying some Spring

It's nearly the Equinox and I can't believe I'm still buying daffs to inject a splash of Spring to my living room. It was overcast but OK today - after a quick snowfall early on - but still not at all Spring-like.

Thank you for all the lovely comments on my blip yesterday, when I referred to the Marmalade Biscuits my mum used to make. I've been asked for the recipe and I think it makes quite interesting dated reading.

Crispy Oat Biscuits
Ingredients : 3 and a half ounces of butter, 3 oz castor sugar,
1 level tablesp marmalade, 1 dessertsp boiling water
3 oz porridge oats, 4 oz self-raising flour
Method: Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Put marmalade and water into a small basin and mix together. Add this to the creamed mixture and then stir in the oats and flour. Mix thoroughly and then place small heaps of the mixture on to a greased baking tray. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes at 325 degrees or mark 3. Cool on a wire tray and store in an airtight tin. This mixture makes about 24 biscuits.


Eat your heart out Mary Berry :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.