Bury

In the spirit of doing day trips to keep myself entertained and distracted, I went to Bury St Edmunds for the afternoon.

I have only been through here before on the train and knew nothing except that it has a big sugar processing factory. I was pleasantly surprised by the bustle and energy of Bury St Edmunds. It’s obviously a popular place to visit for the citizens of West Suffolk. The Abbey Gardens were teeming, and I enjoyed seeing the medieval ruins and aviary in one corner. In the main square, there was a car show that was keeping folks occupied. I had an iced coffee and picnicked on some leftover pizza on a bench, and then read until I felt drowsy.

Yes, I enjoyed my pootle around Bury St Edmunds.

When I got back to Cambridge I was walking back from the station. A young boy on his mum’s shoulders pointed at me and shouted ‘there’s daddy.’ She was sheepish. I thought it was amusing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.