Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

It's Stitching Time

We had originally planned to go out again today (making good use of our week off) but after an absolutely terrible night's sleep for both of us and waking up to pretty rubbish rainy weather, we decided to stay in. I spent most of the day stuffed with painkillers, stitching away at my Nan's tiger cross stitch. I managed to finish the odd stitches I had left on my fourth page, finish the fifth and start a sixth, so good progress was made.

I was very glad of us deciding to stay in after popping my second pair of lounge pants and underoos in the wash in the evening... (Fair warning: very in-depth period talk is coming up!) I really wish we'd had better menstrual education at school. We had such a small handful of classes about it, and it was always described in the same sort of way (around an eggcup of blood per period, cramps, around 5-7 days) that really doesn't prepare you for anything outside of that. Personally, I can lose an eggcup worth in just a couple of hours, and no-one explains that you can also get back ache, headaches, diarrhea or constipation, sweats, exhaustion... And there's no mention of what it feels like. The first time I felt myself pass a large clot I genuinely thought something important had fallen out of me because I was never even told that clots would be involved! I was gutted this evening when I stood up to go to the loo and felt what I knew would be enough to cause a leak... And don't even get me started on how embarrassed/guilty I still feel as a 35 year old woman for leaking, as though it's dirty or whatever. Ugh. Do better for people who menstruate, society.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.