Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Broad-winged Hawk

We seem to have a pair of broad-winged hawks that nest and hang out at the end of our driveway, down at the road. Every morning for the past few weeks we hear and, if we're lucky, see them as we are heading out on our walk. Today in mid afternoon I went down to get the mail and took my camera in case there was some interesting butterfly or dragonfly action on the butterfly bush down by the mailbox. But I was rewarded instead by one of the hawks posing for me in a pine tree! They winter in Central or South America and return here every spring. I've been aware of them being in this same spot for at least three or four years now. 

Having studied the Cornell site for this hawk, I kind of think this one might be a juvenile. Which would be good! Successfully raising young! I hope the young make it south and back up here for the spring of 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.