Betrayals

Carrying on from yesterday, I'm going to stick with the cassette-theme for the rest of the week.

I always used to be cutting up magazines and brochures and stuff and photocopying bits and bobs to make up tape covers. And from somewhere or other I even had a piece of cassette box-sized plastic to use as a template. There was barely a day that went by when I didn't see something and think, "That would make a good tape cover". And then when I started taking more photographs in the early nineties there were plenty of occasions when I took things just for that purpose. And so today, that was my intention, to take a photo of something that would Make A Good Tape Cover. A wall. And a sign. With some bits scribbled out. And a smiley face.

And another old mix tape has been picked out the box.

'Lies and betrayals, fruit-covered nails'

SIDE A - LIES AND BETRAYALS

Suede - Stay Together
Gallon Drunk - You Should Be Ashamed
Sonic Youth - Death To Our Friends
James Taylor Quartet - One Mint Julep
The Doors - Wild Child
Cocteau Twins - Blue Beard
Madder Rose - Waiting For Engines
Cypress Hill - Insane In The Brain
Teenage Fanclub - Gene Clark
Moonshake - Two Trains
The Siddeleys - Sunshine Thuggery


SIDE B - FRUIT-COVERED NAILS

Primal Scream - Come Together
The Track That Gives The Tape Its Title
The Smiths - This Charming Man
The Go-Betweens - Was There Anything I Could Do?
REM - Superman
New Order - Your Silent Face
Suede - My Darkest Star
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - The Carnival Is Over
Sugar - The Slim
Boo Radleys - I Will Always Ask You Where You've Been Even Though I Know The Answer
Tindersticks - E Type Joe
My Bloody Valentine - Slow
The House Of Love - Christine

(February 1994)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.