Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Common Blue

After several dark and gloomy days, the sun has shone today; both the weather and my mood are sunnier. It’s good to feel some warmth at last. Of course, it’s less than a week since we were sitting outside in the sun enjoying family meals, but it seems far longer. 

This morning I wake up after a better sleep; the pain that plagued me yesterday has gone, and G and I have decided I will not progress to radical surgery until we are convinced this is the answer to my medical problems - though quite how this will come about we’re far from certain. The important thing is I feel stronger and in more control - for now at least. 

For the first time in days, I progress beyond the garden and we head to Conwy for a walk round the reserve. I have my camera with me, and it feels so good to be out looking for blips once more. 


There are plenty of cabbage whites and meadow browns flitting skittishly around, none considerate enough to pose. Then, just before we complete our circular route, I spot a flash of blue fluttering by, stopping considerately on some knapweed. And there he stays, perching delicately before manoeuvring himself to pitch head first into the heart of the blossom. All this time, of course, only the spotted underwings are displayed, then suddenly he seems surfeited and rests, the glorious blue of upper wings spread out, before flying down to perch spectacularly on some grass. 

It’s hard to choose my main, but in the end I go for his delicate balancing act, leaving the flashy upper wing displays for extras. 

A late blip tonight - somehow the time’s just gone. I’ll catch up with journals in the morning - but thanks again for all your lovely comments. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.