Sloggs

By Sloggs

Bike fall!

I knew today was going to be a bad day after I somehow switched off two alarms with no knowledge of them going off this morning and overslept! Woke up with a headache and annoyed that I was late for my busy day of plans...

One part of the day was to have a decent long cycle on my new bike, which lasted three minutes before crashing! First time I've ever used clip-in shoes and pedals, and I got caught out when a car very suddenly swerved infront of me (last minute decision by the driver, didn't look for me first!). I swerved, clipped the kerb on an acute angle and fell, unable with my inexperience, to clip out in time. My elbow took the brunt of the fall, along with the knee and hip... onto course gravel. My brand spanking new bike is also now scratched up. I can't bear to look in more detail at the bike today, hopefully there is no mechanical damage. I've since spent the afternoon at hospital with a swollen and painful elbow/forearm, luckily no fracture, so thats something!

Needless to say, today became a write-off! Gutted, sore, embarrased, angry and full of pain killers...

Next time I miss an alarm, I'm just going to stay in bed for the day!!! Lesson learned....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.