At The Allotment

As soon as I get through the gates at Kat's allotment I'm looking around for a blip. I see things here I never see at home. I found the echinops ritro before we got to Kat's plot and knew that would be my blip. It was the way the tops of the globe thistle had the individual flowers starting to open. As if that wasn't enough the bees were all over them, bumbles and honeys.

One of my jobs was fighting back the raspberries. Oh how they predate any space they can! Then I picked several kilos of redcurrants. This allotment is the only place I ever see them. They hang like the gemstone bead earrings I used to sell.

Bittersweet times! Kat is leaving all this behind. After 19 years in 3 different 3rd floor flats, she and her partner have bought a house on the other side of Edinburgh. Too far from this allotment she has put so much work into. 

A couple of years ago I feared I would soon loose the ability to climb the stairs to her flat but, here I still am, managing, just. Having said that, this morning I completed this years Couch to 5K. Kat jogged with me along the canal towpath. I hope I'll manage it again next year at 70.

C2 5K: W9 R3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.