stujphoto

By stujphoto

Collander Light

Aa it was sleeting on and off most of the day, it was clear yet again that my blip needed to be created inside. As we had one of our daughters-in-law visiting just after lunch, I decided to set myself a challenge by restricting my blip-creation time to the evening when she and my wife were going out to the theatre.

This meant I had to do something where I had total control of the light available. Obviously initially I was thinking of using flash but when we had an early tea my wife had put out a candle in a decorative glass vase and this had me thinking what I could do with this light source. In order to get some star bursts I chose a collander which would give tiny pinpricks of light and the whole idea evolved from that.

I brought together two images, one of which gave the overall effect I wanted and the other at f22 and 30 second exposure which would give the star bursts. I enjoyed playing about in this way. Its just amazing what you can create with the simplest of tools.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.