The story of my night

To make a faithful record for blip I'm posting this not very good photograph of the moon in the morning sky. The day has started far too early after a night of insomnia.

The reason? I often don't have a reason for not sleeping but this time I'm pretty sure it's because I am over stimulated by having our friend G. here. G. is only here for one night and it has been so very good to see her. It's two years since she was last here and we would normally see each other more often. It isn't just G. though. It's the fact of having someone else here, in the house and staying overnight. That's something that would, in non-covid times, happen far more frequently. Of course it hasn't happened for over 18 months except once last summer when our son, his partner and our grandson stayed for a night.

Said grandson was here all day yesterday for regular Monday childminding. His dad stayed longer than usual when he picked him up at bedtime so he could see G. Our daughter likewise wanted to see G. so she was here too and stayed for dinner. All in all a social whirl of the kind we just aren't used to. Upshot - not nearly enough sleep.

Given the amount of understimulated free time I've enjoyed in the past 18 months it's very bad planning that I have a day of work today. Not that I plan these days - they just come my way or they don't. I'll manage fine as I always do, but it will be a busy day. G. leaves about the same time as I start work. I'll hope to see your journals later on.

Meanwhile - the (very) early morning moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.