Ringlet

I needed to collect my tablets from the Doctors after lunch so decided I'd take my long lens and see if I could capture a few butterfly images along the field boundary higher up the hill.  (Parking up on Mill Moor.) I'd seen quite a lot of Meadow Browns and Ringlets along this stretch of the path the day before.  Unfortunately my excursion coincided with darkened clouds and the threat of rain, which fortunately, didn't happen.  The butterflies were clearly expecting it too as they'd all taken to concealing themselves among the vegetation, so I was lucky to get this image.

Two visitors yesterday evening.  First Merv, who came to spray the entrance to the wasps nest again - they are nesting inside the walls just above my bedroom window.  I can hear them but not see them.  Second R who is house sitting for a friend who lives higher up the village.  She came to collect a bus timetable and details of the village walks that I'd put on one side.  Her home is in London, so she's trying out village life for a couple of months.  As she has been seriously ill she's still self-isolating, so we sat outside and chatted.  Sometimes you meet people where the conversations seem to flow so easily and she is one of those people.  A lovely way to spend an evening.  I'm guessing that we'll probably have a few more before she returns home.

p.s. August is a time to remember my mum, dad and Ann.  I've been re-reading my Blip entries around from the time mum died , 5/08/15, taken from my entries of the days before and after she died .  I feel I ought to do something more with it.  Not only is it about my mum, but it's also about the start of Ann's chemo journey and what happened to her, to us!  Then I turned back to August 2012 and my dad's hospitalisation.  I'd forgotten how he appeared to be doing OK at the start of his hospital visit and then how quickly he deteriorated and died (15/08/12).  I've left revisiting August 2020 for another day.  Ann died (for me) on 20/08/20 but officially on the 21st.


PPS - I also discovered that I did a lot of earl morning walks in August and September 2015 and less sitting in bed with a laptop first thing in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.