In-between the seconds

By Lisalou

We Wear the Mask

We wear the mask that grins and lies,

It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes,-

This debt we pay to human guile;

With torn and bleeding hearts we smile,

And mouth with myriad subtleties.

Why should the world be over-wise,

In counting all our tears and sighs?

Nay, let them only see us, while

We wear the mask.


Paul Laurence Dunbar

I received many messages from friends, colleges, acquaintances and strangers who felt that yesterdays's image and words were directed to them or echoed in themselves. I wanted to push it further, today I was without the lovely Isabelle, so the SP was so much harder. I struggle with an SP, I feel vulnerable and breakable. But I guess that is kind of the point. Thank you for the stars, comments and hearts. The others are here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.