Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

Great Wall of China

We came to Rouillac in order to try a restaurant here. The Chef Patron is Portuguese and we have been missing Portugal and Portuguese food.

It was a very busy restaurant and was full, even though it is only Tuesday, with tables being re-layed as people left. Clearly extremely popular with the locals.

We walked there and back in the rain and I am currently sitting outside the van with a jacket on! In August. My excuse is that it is only 17°C, without sun, and I still have my posh (thin) clothes on.

The Driver is tempted to head further south tomorrow for some sun. We talked about Monbazillac and other destinations but I think that we have more sensibly decided to head for home, though slowly, via old favourite Melle. It's a great stop that offers good cycling and walking, with a Michelin recommended restaurant in town, a SuperU in walking distance, several very good boulangeries, and an excellent market on Friday. Melle may be my spiritual home :-)

Today's Blip is the car park wall at the restaurant. Adorned with plates, the sight of it transported me to sunnier climes. And now I am filled with hope that this winter we may return to Sagres.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.