Beinghere

By Beinghere

Light through the Trees

Late start again. I get to sleep really late, then struggle to get up in morning these days.

We went to Shell Bay Wood again and had a good walk in total peace and quiet. I saw and heard the young magpie again, and a couple of wrens, but no other birds. The background hum of insects is harder to hear now. The bend in the burn where the beech trees hang over has no running water in it, just rotting leaves.

Back home to find my sander had been delivered. Perfect. So I set about sanding some more of the bench, but then ran out of the right sandpaper. Off I went to the hardware store in Anstruther, but they didn’t have the rougher stuff I needed. Aaaargh! I don’t like replacing something, or buying something new just for the sake of it. But I think it would be far easier buying new garden furniture. This bench I’m doing first was bought second hand last year, but the problem is it has been varnished, and not very well, so it’s proving a nightmare to rub down.
I shall persevere.

It’s been warm and sunny and dry today. Heavy rain is forecast for tomorrow, so I covered up the bench with a big sheet of polythene to keep it dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.