TeeJay

By TeeJay

Me - BCIntroduce

My sister introduced me to "freeform" crochet, which is basically crochet created without a pattern - just make each piece up as you go along! She had found a website with a blanket where they say "what" to include, not how. This is my version that tells the story of me. Off the top of my head it includes:

Favourite sea creature (whale)
Childhood memory (old wooden TV cabinet)
Favourite symbol (ribbons - cancer etc)
Work (apple for the teacher)
Name
Favourite mythical creature (dragon)
Summertime (floating on the river reading a book)
Family (shamrock/trefoil - from our matching tattoos)
Friendship
A book(The Hobbit)
A movie (Ice age)
A childhood toy
A tree
Favourite colour (purple)
Mr hand
My foot
A song (Candle in the wind)
A poem (The Owl and the Pussycat)
My birth sign
My house (motorhome)
A drink (coffee)
Favourite animal/bird (NZ native birds)
Pet
Famous art work (Stary Night)
Rainbow
Flowers
Heart
Favourite place (Moeraki)

I'm sure there are others, I just can't recall them as it's taken me 6 months to create it. The whole thing is bigger than a queen size quilt.

A couple of years ago I started a blanket of purple Celtics knot squares; I never finished it (typical of ne) so I put the ones I'd made into this one too. I also included a square that I knitted whilst visiting my mum in the home the day she passed.

Because it's done free-form each piece is added randomly using scrumble, so there is far more crocheting than just the pieces themselves. There are also no straight sides - which made it interesting to create a border!

I know it's not finished, lots of ends to sew in, but one day . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.