Filming Countryfile

I went to Sweeny Fen this morning and parked my car.  When I got to the gate there were people with film cameras so I asked if I'd be in their way if I went to the other side of the field.  They said that it would be fine but I'd be welcome to watch them filming Countryfile if I wished.  Needless to say, I accepted!

They're filming for a special on Offa's Dyke for the 50th Anniversary of the long distance path. Matt Baker and the people from Llynclys Farm were scything the meadow and spreading the seed heads on a different field. Shropshire Wildlife Trust were there too so I knew a couple of the people.

It was very interesting watching them film.  As well as the hand held cameras they used a drone above.  I wouldn't have liked to go and chat to Matt Baker but when I thanked everyone for letting me watch he initiated a conversation which I thought was lovely for someone so well known on TV.

The programme should go out on August 22nd so I'll certainly watch that!

I never thought the day would come that mating Common Blue butterflies would be my extras.  Be warned though, one of them is X Certificate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.