MollyG

By MollyG

An heirloom of sorts

About a year or so before he died, my father bought my mother a present of a hydrangea in a pot. I think it lived indoors then, but after he died in 1988 and my mother then had to move house, we took the hydrangea and planted it behind the garage in her new back yard. Over the years it grew quite large and at some point I somehow managed to root a cutting from it - it was probably not deliberate, but it just rooted when I had cut some to put in a vase. I kept the plant going and kept it in a pot indoors. My mother died in 2004 and the house was sold - I have no idea if the original plant is still there, but my cutting is now in a pot in our garden and is looking quite resplendent this year; a beautiful reminder of my parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.