Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Falls Park on the Reedy River

It was a nice, pleasantly mild day today so I called my friend Risee to see if she wanted to get out for some photography at a park in Greenville where there was a sculpture exhibit called "Wings of the City" by Jorge Marin. This quote that describes the idea behind the sculptures...Wings of the City’ exhibition symbolizes the ability to fly with our minds, going beyond our physical abilities and dream big.


Not only did we see several amazing winged art but the park was full of flowers and has a waterfall from the Reedy River.  This park is in the middle of downtown Greenville where traffic was a nightmare for this rural driving girl.  Even the GPS on the phone did not help as construction detours and one way streets took us around roads that I had no clue where I was going.   So I finally pulled into church parking lot and regrouped.  Then we found the right road and a parking place a block from the park.    Yikes..I needed an adult beverage at 10am!   


We had a nice walk and saw several of the sculptures but not all of them.  There were hundreds of people there!   It is a fabulous walking park that we saw very little of because of the crowds.  I want to go back in the winter when it probably won't be so crowded.  The park is below street level with many old rock steps and passages that we did not climb.  Definitely more exploring!   And I can tell you I would never venture into a big city except for something that deals with nature!  

In the extras are some of the sights from the park.  

The composition prompt for today was diagonals so I thought the feathers of the wings on this art and the cables holding the suspension bridge over the river were good examples.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.