Communication

On This Day In History
1858: First transatlantic telegraph cable completed

Quote Of The Day
"1858 was a year of great technological advancement in the west. That was the year when Queen Victoria was able, for the first time, to communicate with President Buchanan, through the Transatlantic Telegraphic Cable. And they were the first to "Twitter" transatlantically."
(Hans Rosling)

I went to Kyoto today to see an exhibition of photographs taken of Michael Jackson on various world tours. The exhibition was at Isetan in Kyoto Station (the main blip.) I was pleased to see quite a few photos  from the London Dangerous concert which I went to (including the extra.) I have always regretted not spending the extra money for the high quality official tour brochure. I bought a cheap unofficial one outside Wembley stadium which was very shoddy and entirely black and white. I still cherish my official  Rhythm Nation 1814 tour brochure from the time I went to see Janet Jackson in concert at the Birmingham N.E.C. So, I purchased the book of this exhibition which contains every photo displayed in full colour. Each photograph is a work of art. The man was phenomenal; he lived and breathed art - music, words, choreography, visuals ........ I miss his magic.

It wasn't until I started recording a daily On This Day History last year that I learned of the astonishing technological achievements of Cyrus West Field, laying several communication cables beneath the world's oceans. I am bemused as to why this man isn't more widely known and celebrated. We owe him a huge debt for our interconnected world. 

Or do we?
"You’re so close, but far away."  Indeed.
It looks like the Beach Boys from Dusseldorf hate telephones as much as I do. I cannot help but observe that the four of them are never in the frame together. They saw our socially distanced world approaching forty years ago.

The Telephone Call

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.