Toil

Woke a bit later than usual and we started the day with a bacon sandwich and a chat, then I headed down to P’s. Was the first really warm sunny day since I travelled down here but I spent the day clearing his spare room. He wasn’t on top form, having indigestion and not having slept very well, but that meant he wasn’t up to doing too much and in fact that made the process easier. He explained the things he wanted to keep (only the artist materials), and then left me to get on. I got stuck in, and ended up with three piles…dump, charity shop and potentially keep. Did his food shopping, then bagged everything up, and filled the car with things for the dump. Long trek to do that, then back for tea and a lemon tart in the garden with him (having planted up the bed next to his patio with bright and cheerful dahlias and geraniums I’d got the other day). He was off his food but hopefully feels better about the cleared room…he’s focussed on trying to sort and clear things and it certainly looked a lot better once I’d finished. I tried to encourage him to look through all the photo albums I’d found but his main thought was that no one would need them any more as no one would know who were in the photos….rather poignant.
His office still like a bomb has hit it but he’s keen to check every piece of paper before he disposes of it all so not something I could easily do.
Stacked the car up with the keeping and charity shop piles then headed back to T&Kt’s and leapt straight into the shower…I felt filthy! Once revived Kt and I headed to Bedford for a lovely Thai dinner since T was in London for a night with his fellow club managers. We had a lovely time, chatting about all sorts, then ended up having an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.