Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A sunny morning

Rain was forecast today, but we had a lovely sunny and warm morning so I thought they had got it wrong - but no, it started raining after lunch.

It was a great relief for us that France came off the amber plus list as it means that when we return home from Switzerland we no longer have to quarantine. I know it could change, but it did seem ridiculous when the Beta cases in France were currently 1.9% of all cases whereas in Spain they were 14% of cases and yet Spain was not on a special list requiring quarantining.

After my walk with Xena I did some grocery shopping and then had to go back to the vet to collect the travel certificate, its a 9 page document so takes the vet some time to complete it. Despite no longer having Covid restrictions here we still cannot go into the vet practice but have to wait at the car and the vet or nurse comes out to fetch your pet. I have also heard terrible complaints about our local GP surgery, it is very difficult to get an in person appointment even if it is for something relatively serious. I cannot understand why as restrictions have now been lifted.

We had a wonderful evening with our friends last night, it was the first time we have had friends to dinner in about two years I think. The meal went down a treat, it was something I had made before but it tasted extra good last night. Here is the recipe, I have a few of the roasting tin cook books and I love them. We discussed Brexit, politics, and of course the pandemic around the world and how different countries have coped. We posed the question where else would you like to live if you could not live in the UK, and we all struggled with that as there was no where else!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.