MurielSpark

By MurielSpark

What happened next

I have thought very hard about whether I wanted to post this and might yet remove it.
1 or 2 minutes after my brother took this photo of me, using my camera, my son, on the far left had a seizure and silently sank down. His younger brother thought he was fooling around but looked down and saw he wasn’t moving, just sinking. He pulled him up and shouted for help. To my undying shame I told him to stop shouting. Then I and my brother realised and swam over and tried to get him out. It was difficult, he was rigid, amd the pool is so deep across most of its breadth. It was hard to keep his head above the water. Eventually we got him to the bank. His lips were blue & there was blood,his eyes were rolled back and it was hard to tell if he was breathing.There was a GP on holiday there who gave him 1st aid. An ambulance was called, though a paramedic arrived first and checked him out thoroughly for secondary drowning. He had come round by then. Turns out that when you have a seizure you don’t breathe, so he had not inhaled much if any water. He is okay.
What is surprising is that my younger son, 17,was watching him so closely. He was with two friends so you would expect that he would have been fooling around with them. Had he not, we would not have found him until it was long past too late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.