peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Moving day...

If, like a mayfly, you have a very short lifespan, it seems a bit harsh to have quit your previous outer body to emerge fully fledged on a crappy, wet English "summer's" day.

I spotted this little beauty sitting next to its exuvia on the outside of the backdoor at my brother's house. The light and the angle weren't great but I rather like the multiple reflections caused by the double glazing.

My own day hasn't gone as planned. Yesterday my brother and I visited our mother for her 97th birthday. Sadly she has been in a care home for over a year now as she has disappeared down the dark tunnel of dementia. Nonetheless she was happy to see us, we got to take her out for a short drive and were able to have lunch with her. What was not so great, was that having take a lateral flow test at the home before being allowed in to the home, the staff administering the test managed to misread the result of mine so that only this morning I was told that I had tested positive. Fortunately my mum has tested negative this morning but will have to be isolated until she can be given a PCR test.

In the meantime I had travelled to Norfolk with my brother in order to celebrate my niece's 18th birthday today. As soon as I got the message about the test I decided to return home to self isolate. I was able to book a PCR test for this evening and should have the result within 48 hours. Once again my time off work has been wrecked by covid. I'm really at a very low ebb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.