I LIKE THEM!

A lot of my neighbors have a total dislike of Dandelions (Taraxicum officinale). I like them. Except for three weeks once the seed head turns white, I like the way they draw bees into the yard which is good news for my tomatoes. In the early Springtime, it's the best emergency bee food there is around here. 

And you can eat them if you choose. The basal leaves in early Spring make a nice addition to a green salad...but after a while they turn bitter. The blossoms are totally edible and make a colorful addition to a salad. I've even roasted them by mixing flowers with some bread, adding a bit of milk and baking in the oven until they turn a crispy brown.

And, having a healthy tap root, they thrive on a lack of water. My "lawn" stays green all through the summer when the neighbor's lawns have all turned brown. And you don't have to mow them...they are very low to the ground once they stop blooming in profusion as they are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.