Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Out from the rocks...

Weather was rotten here this morning. Cold, damp and grey. Walked round to the shop in the rain and wondered how I was going to get a blip today. Old farmer was walking his collie back home and I overheard him talking to another guy. "Ach weel, at least it'll keep the stoor doon a bit." Now I don't profess to be multi-lingual, but basically he was saying that the rain would stop it getting dusty. Reminded me of a Monty Python Song.

Inspired, I decided that I would have to find a Blip with just a little bit of sparkle. It cleared up a bit by lunchtime, so Craig and I headed out to take some photos.

We walked up the old Newtyle to Coupar Angus Railway line. Part of a network of lines laid in the early nineteenth century (The Dundee to Newtyle railway was the first passenger railway in Scotland) it has been transformed by members of the local community and is now a public pathway.

As you can see from the image, the line was hewn from solid rock. It is said that the little yellow triangle on the extreme left marks the spot where one of the men died as some dynamite exploded nearby.

It is a strange, eerie place. In the summer (hah!) very little light gets through the canopy and on days like this there isn't much of it around anyway. Might seem like a bizarre place to come to find sparkle, but I new what was looking for. One of the local lads had obviously found the place eerie too. A whiz with spray paint, he introduced a couple of aliens onto the scene. Maybe graffiti to some, but I think ET captures the mood of the place so perfectly.

Thanks to everybody for all the comments about yesterday's blip. A lot of luck went into that one, but am really glad you liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.