Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

It Followed Me Home -- Can We Keep It?

Just kidding.

When I was walking Hamish this morning the ground was still wet from the rain that fell overnight. I noticed what I thought was a dead, bedraggled squirrel and kicked it off to the side of the trail. I went to take a photo with my iPhone, and when I bent over to get close enough, I saw that the poor little thing was breathing weakly. I picked it up and it felt quite cold to the touch.

I gave Hamish free rein so that I could use both my hands to warm the squirrel, and we continued walking. After a while, when squirrel started to move a little, I placed him in a pocket of my waist pack, and we returned home. I think I felt what is must be like to be a kangaroo! The extra photo was taken when I took squirrel out of my pouch at home, and the main photo was just a short time later.

We didn't think Hamish and squirrel would make good companions, so I called the local Wildlife Rescue organization. They don't accept animals before 2:00 PM, and advised me to put him in a box somewhere quiet, until it was time to take him there. 

I was sorry to see him go. The woman we handed him over to said she thought he had a good chance of a complete recovery. If he does, he's a very lucky squirrel! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.