Musk Ox yarn ...

... scarf

This is the scarf I finished knitting recently. It’s so warm!

I bought the yarn in Kangerlussuaq in Greenland, a long time ago, at least 10 years. I intended to knit a beanie or beret but it’s ended up as a scarf. I love the colour.

Musk-ox live in Arctic countries. They are similar to buffalo in appearance, but are actually related to goats.
We had one wander into our high lake camp in Greenland, and the local kayaker I was with ordered it to go away vehemently, in very loud Greenlandic. He said it wouldn’t have understood English! Musk-ox can sometimes be aggressive, so I was relieved to see it disappear to a higher ridge. It was an unforgettable experience.

Another medal for NZ at the Olympics today, with Lydia Ko finishing her golf event with the bronze. An incredible medal haul for NZ. Our K4 women’s team came in 4th, not being able to manage better than 4th. Their overall performance has been remarkable, spearheaded by Lisa Carrington.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.