Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Hosmer Grove on Haleakala National Park

Today we returned to Haleakala on Maui, the extinct volcano, to visit the Hosmer Grove forest where many of the rare Hawaiian birds are found. The trail was several .5 mile loops and rose 120 feet up, and down. It was one of the best birding hikes I've been on. It was so awesome to see birds that are endangered and that I had not seen before.

I've posted photos of the birds, the flora, and some protea we found on the trip toward the volcano. They are labeled and described on FLICKR!! I could not pick a favorite photo of the various birds...but the minute I saw this photo of the Hosmer Grove in the mist, I knew it was the one. The mist comes and and goes out, falling down the sides of the volcano...a little on the chilly side (we wore several coats), but one of the most beautiful places on earth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.