Rain again

Quite a day - the morning spent with a group of four families at Swaddywell Nature reserve, demonstrating how to catch insects with a sweep net and trying to identify their catches. As I was driving home, Lizzy rang to say she'd found a tiny abandoned kitten, and asking my advice.

I picked up Pete and we both dashed over to their house, where she had two tiny kittens in a box - she and Chris had gone back because she'd heard another one mewling but couldn't work out where it was. They eventually fished it out of the middle of a bramble bush.

We briefly discussed whether we could hand rear them, and would have done so if there had been no other option, but I suggested they took them to the nearest vets first. The vets were happy to take them in - apparently they have someone who's an expert in raising orphaned kittens. Hopefully they'll now have good lives after an awful start - it certainly looks as though they'd been dumped immediately after the mother cat gave birth.

After a quick lunch I took Alex for his second jab, and then it was back to Chris's house to check all the maps he's been producing for me on QGIS. We finally finished going through everything about 5.30 p.m.By that time I was feeling quite exhausted, so no real progress has been made with writing today.

My only photographs were taken just before sitting down for dinner, of of one of the several heavy downpours we had this afternoon and evening. The main image has had a glow filter applied - the extra is a monochrome version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.