JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 219: Dragonfly

It's not been a good day for photography, being both busy and very wet, with frequent heavy downpours interspersed with brief, glittering moments of brilliant sun on wet vegetation. I brought the laundry in mid-afternoon, considerably wetter than when I optimistically hung it out in the wind this morning. This is not the best photo I took, despite the limited options, but it's the one I'm most excited about because it's the first dragonfly photo I've managed to take, and although the background is far too clear and distracting, the dragonfly is at least more or less in focus. It looks a bit better full szize. Perusal of the British Dragonfly Society website suggests that it's probably a female Southern Hawker, but I'm far from sure; it was difficult to match the colours and markings with their photos, and I'm not really in the right environment or location for them, so I would welcome comments from anyone who knows more that I do about dragonflies. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.