A fish... biologist.

By HuskyLugs

Inverness Half.

I arrived home some time after 2:30am from the Deerstalker and proceeded to de-mud myself sufficiently enough that I could go to bed. At 3am I set my alarm for 6:30am thinking to myself that running a half marathon the day after the Deerstalker may not be wise...

But by 7am I had managed to haul myself into another set of running gear and was en route to Inverness before 8am. Needless to say a few snoozes were had in the car but my body felt surprisingly good given what I had put it through.

We collected our bibs and tshirts and set off for the start line. The start of the race went about as well as could be hoped but by Mile 10 the fatigue was almost instantaneous and I was reduced to a crawl. A few walks were had but I eventually made it over the finish line in 2:37:00. Hardly a stunning result but given it was technically a PB and it was the day after the Deerstalker I wore my medal with pride as I proceeded to munch my way through everything in my goodie bag.

A quick stop off at Wetherspoons in Elgin to have tea with J was had before heading back to the 'Deen. The day was rounded off with a well deserved salt bath and lashings of Deepfreeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.