Front Yard (Sunday 8th August 2021)

Considering how wildlife friendly I have tried to make the garden I get not nearly as much as I would have hoped. Butterflies have been particularly scarce this year and only recently have I seen any at all, By far the commonest is the large white, but I have seen one or two peacocks and red admirals. This small tortoiseshell landed briefly on an echinacea and stayed just long enough for me to grab a camera and steal a quick shot before it fluttered off. I never know whether this is cause and effect or just it doing its thing. It couldn't have seen me and I hadn't created a shadow but perhaps it sensed a vibration.

Monday 9.8.2021 (1155 hr)

Blip #3497 (#3247 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2022 #152/266 + #080/100 Extras
Day #4154 (911 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2640 (#2440 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Woodland Garden
Flora series

The Woodland Garden (August 2021) (Flickr album)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Sigma  AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Chymes - He's Not There Anymore (1966)
When I heard this the other day I was quite amazed never to have heard it before, but later it turned out that I had heard it and that I actually owned a copy of it on a CD compilation. I'd given it a top rating, too. It was the one and only single by the Chymes, three teenagers from Los Angeles. The lead singer Candice was only thirteen. The other two, Irisse and Stephanie, were 15 and 16. The picture sleeve of the single shows four girls, but I assume the fourth is Nita Garfield, who discovered the group and introduced them to her boyfriend Howard Kaylan, who was a member of the Turtles. She and Howard co-wrote the song and the Turtles provided the backing, probably with Nita assisting the vocals.

One year ago:
The Old Forge (Pinboard)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.