MONO MONDAY - HIGH KEY

I haven’t been out walking for two days – well, at least not early in the morning, so I decided that I had to get back into it this morning. Having gone to bed last night before 9 o’clock, I had obviously had enough sleep because at 5:55 a.m. I woke, without the alarm and jumped out of bed;  when I say “jumped“ I don’t actually mean that, but I did ease myself out of bed gently, so that I wouldn’t wake Mr HCB.

I was out walking bye 6:10 a.m. and did my usual walk which led eventually to “my field”.  I took several photographs there but wasn’t that keen on any of them so when I got back, I went out into our garden and took lots more photographs – all before 7 o’clock.

I particularly liked this hollyhock - Alcea rose - Black Knight - this tall, dark and handsome fella – what’s not to love?  This particular one is a perennial and rust resistant hollyhock, with dark maroon to almost jet black petals and large blooms that grow to an impressive 6’ tall and it’s long blooming, too. It looks amazing next to our Helianthus - the yellow daisies - and blends in well with the other hollyhocks, which are pink and peach coloured. 

I used the Portrait mode on my iPhone and it worked well, especially as there is a “High Key Light Mono” setting, which was just right for today.

It didn’t look as if the morning was going to be that good weatherwise, so Mr. HCB suggested coffee up at Jack’s.  It would have been rude to refuse and I’m glad I didn’t because just after we got in there, one of our friends, Louise, arrived.  She then rang her husband, Trevor and he came round too, so we were able to have a good catch up - I can’t remember the last time we saw them, so it was great to see them both again.  The sun has now come out, so we are going to sit in the garden and read for a while before lunch.

“Flowers have an expression of countenance 
     as much as men or animals. 
Some seem to smile; 
     some have a sad expression; 
          some are pensive and diffident; 
others again are plain, honest and upright, 
     like, the broad-faced sunflower 
          and the hollyhock.”
Henry Ward Beecher

P.S.  I am really hoping to hit the £1,000 mark with my sponsorship in aid of the Mamie Martin Fund, which helps impoverished girls in North Malawi to obtain a good secondary school education - if you haven't sponsored me yet, would you consider helping me to get there?  I would be so grateful.  ;-)  M xx 

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.