Windmill Nr. 1, Heusden

'Heusden' does NOT sound like 'Houston' (Texas).  :D)))  Think, instead, of the French word 'fleur'.

Built in 1971, this windmill is simply known as 'Number 1'.  'Number 2' is the extra shot, but you can also see it in the main shot, behind 'Number 1'.  There's also a 'Number 3' but it's not near where these are standing, and I could not find a parking spot closer to it, and in typical sour grapes style, it's not as pretty anyway... haha!  The labels remind me of Star Trek.

Woke up at about 11.00 after the very long night, and continued cleaning where I left off the previous day.  AW returned at around 14.00 and told me that he won't be going to Eindhoven that regularly after all, which is okay (dang... and I had so many plans).  After having some tea and watching the closing ceremonies of the Olympics together, I thought I'd drive above the big rivers to a spot on the left of the A16, but the black clouds there, really black and not grey, convinced me that that was a bad idea, so returned to the A16 and then turned left on the A59, and headed here.  Heusden used to be a fort.  We really have several old forts, all of them worth a visit.  The one thing I have always remembered about Heusden, though, having visited here before, is it is where I picked up a rather good umbrella someone left hanging on the railing of the little foot bridge you can see in the shot.  In fact, I can even remember on which part of the railing I found it.  Who knows... maybe one day, when I start suffering from dementia, that small item will still stick in my head... :D)))

Very tired when I got back.  We had dinner, and then a quiet evening, and I finally had time to catch up with my Burgundians.

Will keep Comments open, but now I'm wondering if it would be a good idea to turn them off once in a while.  Thank you for dropping by!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.