curns' corner

By curns

Day trip

Up and off this morning for a day trip to Shrewsbury. It was a little impromptu trip that I decided to do after my original idea to go and see Dad for his birthday last week was scuppered by plans Mum and Dad already had.  Avanti West Coast had, apparently, amended their timetable for August so the train that I had purchased tickets for was no longer running.  One member of staff told me to queue for new seat reservations, so I did but was then told by the person at the counter that it was not possible. He added, “it’s 11 coaches, we don’t sell all the seats” which I didn’t think was very helpful.

Nonetheless, I found a great seat and the journey was easy as far as Birmingham. The Transport for Wales train for the onward journey to Shrewsbury was a short train and it was packed as far a Telford.  People were trying to occupy two seats to maintain social distancing but by the time we departed Wolverhampton every bit of the train had somebody squashed in.  If there was a spreader location this might have been it.  In spite of these little things it was quite a relaxing journey and lovely to be able to get there and back in a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.