*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Squatbetty or Sweatybetty? ;-)

A few tips for anyone interested in starting running (from someone who was a bit of a 2020-induced couch potato):

 ~ Unless you're training specifically for something (e.g. a 5K event or charity run) I think it's important to actually enjoy it. Some people don't like running, and that's ok. There are plenty of other sports and fitness activities to go at.
~ Don't get bogged down (or tricked into thinking) you need to buy loads of expensive gear, especially at first. The most important things are decent running shoes/trainers and, for most women, a medium/high impact running bra (I suspect there are similar things for moobs these days too). I bought a pair of end-of-line New Balance running shoes in the sale and a sports bra from Aldi (think it was £4.99 or sommat daft!) Both have made a huge difference.
~ Avoid comparing yourself to others. There will always be people fitter and faster and it doesn't matter.
~ Try not to be too self-conscious. This was something I really struggled with at first and so used to go out running before sunrise to avoid seeing people. I used to be embarrassed about my speed, about sometimes needing to walk or stop, about my red face and sweatiness. None of those things bother me as much any more. I'm kinda proud of my sweat patches now!
~ Take it slow and steady (C25K apps are a good way of building up gradually, showing your progress and keeping you motivated) and try not to get disheartened if you don't make quick progress. Remember the hare and the tortoise :-)

I suppose these points could easily apply to most activities really e.g. cycling. Dunno whether this will be of any help to anyone, it's just stuff that I've found useful over the last 4 months xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.